Adding a User to Exchange
After the user is added to the Domain and Entra, you can give them an email account.
Go to the MS365 admin page at https://admin.microsoft.com . Log in as an administrator.
On the left side, expand the Show All option and click on the Exchange Admin center option.
In the Exchange Admin portal, expand the Recipients menu and click on Mailboxes.
By default, any user who is active in Entra, and is assigned an appropriate license will be given a mailbox. Ensure the user is listed in the list of Mailboxes.
Click on the Groups option under the Recipients menu.
Add the user the the appropriate Groups. There are several types of Groups - Microsoft 365 Groups and Distribution Lists. Adding a user to the Microsoft 365 Group will give them access to the Teams app for that group. Adding a user to the Distribution list will add that user to the email distribution list.
We are not utilizing the Dynamic distribution lists or the Mail-enabled security groups at this time.
Microsoft 365 Groups - These are used to grant a user access to the specific Team in MS Teams.
- Administration - This is only for users who are in the Administration department.
- Adult Services - This is for any user who is on the Adult Services Team.
- Branches - This is for any user who is a member of the Branches Team.
- Branches and Programming - This is for any user on the Branches and Programming Team.
- Childrens Services - This is for any user on the Children's Services Team.
- Leadership - This is only for top level Leadership managers.
- Lewis & Clark Library - This is for all users for the Library. They are granted access to this Team by default.
- Marketing - This is for any user who is on the Marketing Team.
- Outreach - This is for any user who is on the Outreach Team.
- Public Services - This is for any user who is part of Public Services.
- Systems - This is for any user who works in the Systems department.
- Technical Services - This is for any user who is on the Technical Services Team.
- Teen Services - This is for any user who is on the Teen Team.
Distribution List - These are email distribution groups. Adding a user to these will enable that user to get emails sent to that group.
- All - This is for all staff including shelvers, but not substitutes.
- Augusta - This includes all the staff in the Augusta branch.
- BookmobileBranch - This includes all the staff in the Outreach department.
- DeskStaff - This is all public services employees whose manager is the Public Services Manager.
- East Helena - This includes all the staff who work in the East Helena branch.
- Helena - This includes all the staff who work in the Helena branch.
- Lincoln - This includes all the staff who work in the Lincoln branch.
- Managers - This includes all the leadership staff.
- Publicity - This is for any staff that work with Marketing.
- PublicServices - This includes any staff who work directly with the public.
- SafetyCommittee - This includes any staff who are on the Safety Committee team.
- Shelvers - This includes all the staff who are shelvers.
- SystemsStaff - This includes all the staff in the Systems department.
- TechnicalServices - This includes all the staff who work in the Technical Services and Collections department.
